Confession: I want you to like my art

Standard

I want you to like my art.

I want you to follow me on twitter. I want you to like my Facebook status because I think I’m clever. I want you to like that photo post with my drawing in it. I’m probably even fishing for compliments with this post. I hope those who like my art will see how needy I am and just humor my neurosis with some kind of kindness. I want you to think my art is amazing, and I don’t want you to mention how great “_________” is at something in my field.

I am an inconsistent, insecure artist. I don’t like it that way. I don’t want to be this way. I don’t want to check Facebook thirty times before lunch hoping to see a thumb with a big number next to one of my drawings or updates. I don’t want to seem needy or, more importantly, actually feel needy.

I just want to BE.

I want to make art and share it, and if nobody ever gives it a second thought… I want to be cool with that. I want to accept that I am not going to be famous… even “YouTube famous”.

I am Rob Fike, and I want you to like my art… But I’m working on that.

2 thoughts on “Confession: I want you to like my art

  1. The greater the artist, the greater the doubt(insecurity) perfect confidence is granted to the less talented as a consolation prize-Robert Hughes

Leave a Reply

